top of page

MyOHUN 2018


Malaysia One Health University Network

Indohun 2018


MyOHUN 2018-2019


Building a strong and resilient One Health Workforce is a priority for MyOHUN. Involving students in One Health-based activity is one of the most effective means to better prepare them to prevent, fight and respond to infectious disease outbreaks in the future. MyOHUN established One Health Student Clubs as part of the network in 2016 and currently has eight OHSCs in Malaysia.  

As one may say, “education is the path to innovation”.  OHSCs help to empower students with vital One Health competencies before they graduate . Furthermore, by educating the next generation of One Health workforce, the views and values of tomorrow’s society will be strengthened on the concepts and practices of One Health. The current COVID-19 pandemic best illustrates the importance and need to better equip our future One Health workforce that benefits the human-animal-environment interaction.

MyOHUN’s student-based activities, such as In-Situ Problem Based Learning and One Health Young Leaders and Communicators, have moulded students’ understanding of One Health and multidisciplinary approach at the basic level. Through OHSCs, which consist of activities on zoonotic diseases transmission and prevention, community outreach programs in rural areas with indigenous people, seminars and forums on One Health  provide and enhance a strong educational experience for students to appreciate and understand that a multidisciplinary approach to solving problems will have a more unified outcome.

Recently, a team of Malaysian students named Panthera Tigris, won the SEAOHUN Students’ Regional Competition 2021 (national level) and the Public Pick Award (international level).Their video talked about environmental degradation, wildlife in the ecosystem, and zoonotic disease outbreaks reached more than 39,000 views on YouTube. This risk-awareness video and its success istangible proof of the widespread influence of OHSC activities.

Last year, Ainaa Sabihah Binti Mohamed Anuar from Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA) won first prize in the Poster Category for the SEAOHUN COVID-19 Digital Awareness Challenge. She was inspired to join the competition after participating in the One Health Young Leaders and Communicators activity which helped her understand and value the importance of One Health. 

“I realize that there are more responsibilities ahead of me in terms of educating the public about zoonosis and the One Health approach.” Ainaa Sabihah stated when asked about what she had gained from the MyOHUN activities.

Students' creativity and enthusiasm to embrace One Health indirectly influence younger generations on the importance of working together hand-in-hand. MyOHUN will continue to invest in educating the next generation to ensure a strong, resilient, and reliant One Health workforce. As the saying goes, “if you want a better future, invest now!”

- Personal protective equipment, distancing, and group size standards in this photo were consistent with local public health guidance and COVID-19 status in the specific country and time it was taken. This may not reflect best practices for all locations where COVID-19 is still spreading. -


About MyOHUN

About MyOHUN

Malaysia One Health University Network (MyOHUN) was built to promote the philosophy and spirit of One Health in working together to respond to new and emerging diseases. It was initiated in 2012 as part of the Southeast Asia One Health University Network (SEAOHUN). The MyOHUN network at present comprises 17 universities, 2 Government ministries, and 7 government departments/agencies.

The concept of One Health in Malaysia aims to forge collaborations between academicians, professionals, scientists, and communities across sectors with responsibility for the health of humans, domestic animals, and wildlife. Through this collaboration, cross-sectoral skills and knowledge will be fostered thus enhances the capacity of health and veterinary professionals to respond to emerging infectious and zoonotic diseases through One Health leadership, curriculum development, faculty linkages and exchanges, workshop, staff development, and mentoring between institutions.

MyOHUN Achievements


MyOHUN has successfully conducted more than 120 activities between 2013-2019.  Some of the training are CPD certified. 

  • Workforce Assessment

  • Problem Based Learning    

  • Curriculum Mapping & Review    

  • Development of Modules

  • Simulation of Disease Outbreaks   

  • Wildlife Zoonosis & Ecosystem Health

  • One Health Student Clubs   

  • One Health Programs to Community    

  • Seed OH research fund

Malaysia One Health University Network (MyOHUN) was built to promote One Health's philosophy and spirit in working together to respond to new and emerging diseases. It was initiated in 2012 as part of the Southeast Asia One Health University Network (SEAOHUN). The MyOHUN network at present comprises 17 universities, 2 ministries, and 7 government departments/agencies.  


MyOHUN Membership OHW-NG 2020

  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) (Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Faculty of Environmental Studies)

  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) (Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine)

  • Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) (School of Medical Sciences, School of Health Sciences)

  • International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM) (Kuliyyah of Medicine, Kuliyyah of Allied Health Sciences)

  • Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK) (Faculty of Veterinary Medicine)

  • Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT) (School of Fundamental Sciences)

  • Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA) (Faculty of Medicine)

  • University of Cyberjaya (UoC) (Faculty of Medicine)

  • Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) (Faculty of Medicine)

  • Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) (Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)

  • Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) (Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences)

  • Management & Science University (MSU) (Faculty of Health and Life Sciences)

  • Universiti Malaya (UM) Faculty of Medicine

  • International Medical University Malaysia

  • Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS) Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

  • Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences  

  • RCSI & UCD Malaysian College (The Royal College of Surgeon in Ireland & University College Dublin Malaysian Campus

* Founding Universities and Faculties 

Government Ministries

  • Ministry of Health

  • Ministry of Agriculture and Food Industry

Government Departments

  •  Department of Veterinary Services (DVS)

  • Veterinary Research Institute (VRI)

  • Malaysia Agricultural and Research Development Institute (MARDI)

  • Institute of Medical Research (IMR)

  • National Public Health Laboratory (NPHL)

  • Department of Wildlife and National Parks Peninsular Malaysia (PERHILITAN)

  • National Disaster Management Agency (NADMA)

bottom of page